City of Spines

Inside the humid greenhouse, just before the lens fogged over.

Inside the humid greenhouse, just before the lens fogged over.

The final day of summer and it’s overcast…but perfect for putting on the boots, creeping through the botanical gardens and taking some snaps.

One of the less dangerous-looking characters...

One of the less dangerous-looking characters…

Lately I’ve really enjoyed the cactus room from the perspective of a 200mm lens. If you change your position even a little, you get a completely different composition. And while I’m no expert in photography, there’s something so great (perhaps the instant gratification that provides most of photography’s allure..) about having something work aesthetically, naturally, magically.

The only thing I had to rearrange in this still life was myself.

Big guys by the door.

Big guys by the door.

Perhaps a childhood of Sesame Street causes me to imagine some of them coming to life.

Perhaps a childhood of Sesame Street causes me to imagine some of them coming to life.

I took a fair few in colour as well – each species had its own stunning set of tones – although I really favoured the black and white ones. Somehow reducing the cactus to its structural components made me aware of how alien, elaborate and exotic it was.

Nearly sat on this one. Very glad I didn't...

Nearly sat on this one. Very glad I didn’t…

City of Spines

City of Spines

Leave a comment