Old VS New: Methods and Aesthetic

Building on a mini-project from 2014, I’ve been collecting and transforming walk, run, gallop, creep and trot cycles from all manner of quadrupeds. The original aim was to create some high-contrast moving images to project on a textured wall, like a moving cave painting, but with a little more anatomical correctness.

In dialling up (majorly) some of the visual levels, I accidentally gave the sequences a florescent, futuristic, computerised look, comparable to the post with the running horse in 2014. As a comparison, I increased the temperature of the second lot of sequences to look more appropriate (aged) for the cave wall installation. So here we have a very digital-age approach alongside a more analogue/primitive aesthetic.

What I’m reminded of are all the historical origins of the project. Obviously many of the sequences were Muybridge-inspired, as well as drawing on the ancient human ability to perceive and represent movement. From Neolithic rock paintings to 20th century photography, and eventually 21st century (aka the digital age), this project is pretty much an extension of a very very old obsession… to record that which moves, and which ‘moves’ us.

 

One thought on “Old VS New: Methods and Aesthetic

  1. Hey Hannah, It’s Jo Law from uow. Excited to see your works here on this platform. I happened to see your new work in the Gong at the Digital Art Projection (which my collaborator Ali Smith and I also have a work in). I have a couple photos of the projection in situ of your work if you would like them. The audience was really enjoying your work and dancing to the music… Please get in touch! (I am still at uni). Best, Jo

Leave a comment